Best Advice I’ve Ever Been Given

A lot of times when I’m cleaning or getting ready in the morning, I like to listen to podcasts. One podcast I enjoy listening to, is “Whoa that’s good” with Sadie Robertson. She has various Christian believers on her podcast and they talk about the best advice they’ve ever been given. It’s interesting the different advice the guest brings to the podcast with different perspectives.

So it got me thinking about the best advice I have ever received. I have received  some really great advice over the years. God has given me wise, godly people who I am constantly learning from. But there are three pieces of advice I have received over the years that stick with me just about every day.

  1. “A man’s heart deviseth his way, but the Lord directeth his steps.” Proverbs 16:9 In high school, I was struggling about what to study in college. I felt this unnecessary pressure to have a decision made. Some of my classmates knew exactly what they wanted to do, and I tried to figure it out to be in step with them. One teacher noticed this internal struggle and took the time to help me. He quoted Proverbs 16:9 for me. He taught me that it’s okay not to be in the same stage of life as others. God directs our steps and we can trust Him with our next step. We don’t get to know what’s years down the road, just the next step. And God will direct that next step for us. God calmed my worried heart and I have learned even more over the years how important it is to trust God with my steps. I don’t know where I will be in 5 years or even what I will be doing, but I trust God will direct each of my steps as long as I trust in Him.
  2. “Follow God, no matter what.” -my dad- During my last two years of high school, I heard my dad say this a lot. As I was planning for college, he would remind me to follow God, no matter what. Choosing a college was difficult, but I knew I had to follow where God wanted me to go. My dad would continue to say this, and one day I saw him live it out. After living in the same house for 16 years, my parents moved 3 1/2 hours away from the rest of my family because that was God’s next step for them. They moved away from my siblings and in-laws, my grandparents, my nephew and their church. It was not an easy move for them, but we saw God provide so much in a miraculous way. Watching my dad make that difficult decision to move him and my mom away, proved to me that my dad practices what he preaches. God used my dad’s obedience to prove to me that when you follow God, He will take care of you. Even when its scary, God will provide what you need. When God called me to missions, I heard my dad’s voice saying, “Follow God, no matter what.” Even when I thought of everything I would have to sacrifice or the changes I would have to make, I could hear my dad’s voice reminding me to follow God, no matter what.
  3. “Don’t let the fear of losing something keep you from following the Lord.” my best friend, Ashley- Ashley and I were college roommates for three (wonderful) years and she added so much to my life. We were kindred spirits in numerous ways. One thing I cherish the most of our years together is our morning bathroom talks. We usually got ready together and our conversations would range from serious to hilarious topics. During our senior year, I was praying and thinking about coming to the Philippines to teach for one year. I was engaged at the time and I asked Ashley, “Do you think I’m being selfish in going to the Philippines?” She paused for a second and said, “Nope. If this is what God wants you to do, then you need to do it.” I remember sharing with her my fears about going. I shared with her that I was afraid that God would call me to the Philippines and that I would lose my fiancé. I shared how I was afraid that God would changed my life plans completely. That’s when Ashley gave me this advice. “Megan, don’t let the fear of losing something keep you from following the Lord.” Although her advice is similar to my dad’s advice, what she said was related exactly to how I was feeling at the time. When I surrendered to serve full-time in the Philippines, I heard Ashley’s words in my head. I was looking at everything I was going to lose if I surrendered to full-time missions. Shortly after I surrendered, God changed my perspective from seeing what I was going to lose to seeing everything I gained.

 

Saying “yes” to God’s will two years ago was one of the scariest things I’ve ever done. Because I didn’t know what God had planned. But “Proverbs 16:9 says that He WILL direct our steps. I had to make some sacrifices, but I want to follow God “no matter what.” Even though I’m half a world away from my family and friends in the States, I have a whole bunch of people here in the Philippines that I am thankful for beyond words. I can see how God has provided for me through His people, in the Philippines and in the States.

 


5 thoughts on “Best Advice I’ve Ever Been Given

  1. Thank you, Megan, for these thoughts! Great wisdom in these bits of advice that obviously has served you well and will continue to guide you! You have encouraged me!

    Like

  2. I loved this post about best advice and how we should always seek God’s will. Your dad’s story about stepping out in faith and seeing provisions is very encouraging. God loves to stretch us and ask us to follow Him before we know what it will look like.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment